Asperger

Noël chez un enfant atteint du syndrome d'Asperger

Noël chez un enfant atteint du syndrome d'Asperger


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Noël est une période de surstimulation sensorielle, de changements de routine, de réunions de famille, de situations qui peuvent être aussi agréables que stressantes. Comment cela affecte-t-il les enfants atteints du syndrome d'Asperger? Il est vrai que pour les familles dans lesquelles il y a un enfant atteint du syndrome d'Asperger, le défi est spécial, mais cette fois-ci est également pleine d'opportunités d'apprentissage et de plaisir pour tous.

Bien que chaque garçon et chaque fille soient différents, les personnes atteintes de T.E.A. (Trouble du spectre autistique) partagent généralement certaines particularités:

- Ils préfèrent les routines à des situations inattendues ou à des surprises.

- Ils ont tendance à comprendre différemment et situations sociales et communication très littérales.

- Ils peuvent être très sensibles au bruit, lumières, odeurs ou un certain toucher.

- Ils ont des centres d'intérêt très forts.

Compte tenu de ces caractéristiques générales et de la connaissance que les parents ont de leurs enfants, nous pouvons nous préparer aux moments privilégiés de ces rendez-vous.

Bien que ce soit probablement déjà une ressource que nous utilisons pendant le reste de l'année, il est particulièrement conseillé à ce moment d'utiliser un calendrier écrit visuel pour anticiper la durée des vacances, quand retourner à l'école et que faire chaque jour.

N'oublions pas que, bien que ces dates impliquent de nombreux changements, il faut essayer de maintenir certaines routines, ceux qui permettent aux enfants de «structurer» leur journée. Cela peut être l'heure des repas, l'heure du coucher, une émission de télévision que vous regardez toujours en même temps, etc.

L'anticipation est particulièrement importante lorsque nous allons faire de nouvelles activités. Il ne s'agit pas seulement de les mettre sur le calendrier, mais aussi expliquer et rendre visible à l'enfant qui participera à ces activités, le lieu où cela se produira, comment les autres se comporteront et comment il devrait se comporter, etc.

Pour aider à cette anticipation, vous pouvez utiliser des photos de famille et d'amis avec qui nous allons nous rencontrer, des vidéos de ces situations (par exemple, de Noël passé) ou des histoires sociales (scripts explicatifs de la situation).

Le nombre d'activités et leur durée doivent être ajustés à ce que vous pouvez apprécier, sans entraîner de surcharge. Tous les enfants sont spécialement activés pendant ces dates, mais Pour les enfants atteints du syndrome d'Asperger, il peut être particulièrement difficile de retrouver son calme après une journée bien remplie.

Certains matériaux peuvent aider à minimiser cette surcharge: casques, lunettes, balles anti-stress, jouets à mâcher, etc. Si nous observons que le niveau de stress de l'enfant augmente, nous pouvons prendre des «pauses» de l'activité et y revenir plus tard. Choisir des moments où il y a moins d'afflux peut également être une bonne option préventive.

Pour les activités à la maison, comme les réunions de famille, nous pouvons identifier un endroit «calme» où l'enfant peut aller lorsqu'il a besoin de calme. Si nous visitons une autre maison, il n'est pas exclu d'utiliser une tente pour enfants. Auparavant, il faudra avoir pratiqué l'utilisation de ce matériau pour qu'il soit associé à une sensation de confort. Il peut également être une bonne option de transporter des objets à ceux qui ont un attachement particulier et qui, nous le savons, leur apportent une sécurité.

Si nous allons voyager, il est pratique d'anticiper la durée du voyage, par exemple avec une horloge visuelle ou en indiquant les endroits que nous allons passer sur une carte pour visualiser la progression du voyage. On peut occuper cette «attente» avec des jeux de voyage ou en se tournant vers la technologie.

Avec une certaine fréquence, la famille élargie (oncles, grands-parents ...) ne sait pas que l'enfant est atteint du syndrome d'Asperger ou ce que cela signifie. C'est le bon moment pour clarifier avec eux à quoi ressemble leur petit-fils, neveu ... et pourquoi il a certains comportements. Il n'est pas si important qu'ils connaissent l'étiquette diagnostique que qu'ils respectent l'individualité de l'enfant. Par exemple, les câlins et les baisers peuvent être très invasifs. Nous pouvons expliquer que notre enfant est nerveux à propos de ces gestes affectueux et que d'autres peuvent faire comme «high-fiving» ou «souffler un baiser».

Lorsque nous parlons des ajustements dont un enfant atteint du syndrome d'Asperger aura besoin dans l'environnement, ceux-ci peuvent impliquer une limitation des activités pour les frères et sœurs. Comme le reste de l'année, nous devons garder avec eux des moments privilégiés. Si l'enfant atteint du syndrome d'Asperger ne peut pas assister à une activité mais que c'est important pour son frère, nous pouvons sûrement nous tourner vers les grands-parents, oncles, amis ... pour faire quelque chose d'amusant avec lui pendant que nous allons avec son frère à cette activité.

Comme tout le monde, Un enfant atteint du syndrome d'Asperger a besoin de partager, d'apprécier, d'être parfois calme et activé à d'autres, d'être stimulé, d'apprendre ... Fournir cela nécessitera des ajustements à l'environnement et des soutiens spéciaux, mais cela nous permettra de profiter de Noël autant que n'importe quelle famille.

Repas, décorations de Noël, cadeaux, camping ... De nombreux changements qu'il faut s'habituer aux plus petits! Voici quelques conseils utiles:

Les repas
Il est courant que les enfants atteints du syndrome d'Asperger aient du mal à réguler la quantité de nourriture, surtout lorsqu'il y a des plats qui peuvent être «mordants». Nous pouvons leur dire de choisir la nourriture qu'ils veulent manger parmi tout ce qui est sur la table et de les mettre dans une seule assiette, de sorte qu'il y ait une limite mais nous leur donnons la possibilité de choisir. Bien sûr, ce n'est pas le bon moment pour introduire des changements dans l'alimentation, donc si vous avez des restrictions sur les saveurs, les textures, les couleurs, etc., il serait important de respecter ces particularités.

décoration de Noël
Lorsque nous allons placer les décorations de Noël, nous pouvons impliquer l'enfant. Les mettre et les enlever pendant plusieurs jours peut vous aider à mieux tolérer ce changement. Si vous avez une prédilection particulière pour les lumières et que cela peut vous gêner, nous pouvons définir des heures spécifiques de la journée pour les allumer.

Les cadeaux
Comme nous l'avons mentionné, les personnes atteintes du syndrome d'Asperger n'aiment généralement pas les surprises, même si elles sont apparemment positives. Pour cette raison, il est recommandé que lorsqu'ils écrivent les lettres aux rois ou au père Noël, nous les aidions à demander des choses qu'ils recevront sûrement. En fonction de votre capacité à tolérer la frustration, nous pouvons inclure d'autres choses que vous voulez, mais en anticipant ce que vous recevrez et dont vous n'êtes pas sûr d'obtenir.

Pour les enfants ayant des difficultés particulières à cet égard, nous pouvons laisser les cadeaux déballés, afin qu'ils voient clairement de quoi il s'agit. Et utilisez un endroit calme pour les ouvrir. Une question courante des familles est de savoir si elles devraient offrir des cadeaux liés aux «obsessions». On peut négocier avec eux certains de ces objets, mais aussi en inclure d'autres qui peuvent être amusants mais qui ne sont pas liés à ces sources d'intérêt. C'est une bonne occasion de générer de nouveaux intérêts!

Camps de Noël
Les familles doivent souvent utiliser un camp de Noël pendant qu'elles travaillent. Il existe des camps qui ont des places pour les enfants ayant des besoins spéciaux et des professionnels de soutien spécialisés. Nous pouvons les contacter avant le début du camp pour leur fournir des informations sur les caractéristiques de l'enfant ou, si ce n'est pas possible, faire une `` lettre de motivation '' avec les choses qui leur plaisent, les calmer, les stresser, etc. Toutes les indications d'anticipation doivent également être appliquées dans ces environnements.

À l'école
Pendant les semaines précédant les vacances, les écoles modifient leurs routines, leur décoration et réalisent des activités inhabituelles qui ont tendance à être particulièrement stressantes pour les élèves atteints du syndrome d'Asperger. Il est important que l'enfant soit inclus autant que possible dans la dynamique qui se déroule, mais en préparant les situations et en respectant le niveau de stress qu'il peut tolérer. Le premier objectif devrait être que vous appréciiez ces activités, même si vous ne participez pas aussi longtemps ou autant que le reste des camarades de classe.

Le premier jour après les vacances doit être anticipé et préparé. Après deux semaines de vacances, la rentrée scolaire nécessite un processus d'adaptation. Les enseignants doivent tenir compte de lignes directrices similaires à celles du premier jour après les vacances d'été. Il peut être nécessaire d'entrer un peu plus tard pour éviter la stimulation environnementale qui se produira à l'entrée ou pour que l'enseignant sorte pour vous chercher.

Vous pouvez lire plus d'articles similaires à Noël chez un enfant atteint du syndrome d'Asperger, dans la catégorie Asperger sur place.


Vidéo: #Autisme: comment faire le diagnostic #TSA Trouble du Spectre Autistique #ASPERGER #TND (Octobre 2022).

Asperger

Christmas at the home of a child with Asperger syndrome


Christmas is a time of sensory overstimulation, changes in routines, family gatherings, situations that can be pleasant at the same time as stressful. How does this affect children with Asperger syndrome? It is true that for families in which there is a child with Asperger Syndrome the challenge is special, but this time is also full of learning opportunities and enjoyment for all.

Although every boy and girl is different, people with T.E.A. (Autism Spectrum Disorder) usually share some peculiarities:

- They prefer routines to unexpected situations or surprises.

- They tend to understand differently and very literal social situations and communication.

- They can be very sensitive to noise, lights, smells or a certain touch.

- They have very strong focuses of interest.

Taking into account these general characteristics and the knowledge that parents have of their children, we can prepare ourselves for the special moments of these dates.

Although it is probably already a resource that we use during the rest of the year, it is especially advisable at this time to use a visual-written calendar to anticipate how long the holidays are, when to return to school and what to do each day.

Let's not forget that, although these dates mean many changes, we must try to maintain certain routines, those that allow children to 'give structure' to their day. It can be meal times, bedtime, a TV show that you always watch at the same time, etc.

Anticipation is especially important when we go to do new activities. It is not only about putting them on the calendar, but also about explain and make visible to the child who will be in these activities, the place in which it will happen, how others will behave and how he should behave, etc.

To help this anticipation, you can use photographs of family and friends with whom we will meet, videos of these situations (for example, from Christmas past) or social stories (explanatory scripts of the situation).

The number of activities and their duration should be adjusted to what you can enjoy, without resulting in an overload. All children are especially activated during these dates, but For children with Asperger Syndrome it can be especially difficult to regain calm after a busy day.

Some materials can help to minimize this overload: helmets, glasses, stress balls, chew toys, etc. If we observe that the child's stress level is increasing, we can take 'breaks' from the activity and return to it in a while. Choosing times when there is less influx can also be a good preventive option.

For activities at home, such as family gatherings, we can identify a 'quiet' place where the child can go when he needs calm. If we are visiting another house, it is not ruled out to use a children's tent. Previously, we will have to have practiced the use of this material so that it is associated with a feeling of comfort. It can also be a good option to carry objects to those who have a special attachment and that we know give them security.

If we are going to travel, it is convenient to anticipate how long the journey will take, for example with a visual clock or by pointing out the places we are going to pass on a map to visualize the progress of the journey. We can occupy this 'waiting' with travel games or by resorting to technology.

With some frequency, the extended family (uncles, grandparents ...) do not know that the child has Asperger's Syndrome or what this means. It is a good time to clarify with them what their grandson, nephew ... is like and why he has certain behaviors. It is not as important that they know the diagnostic label as that they respect the individuality of the child. For example, hugs and kisses can be very invasive. We can explain that our child is nervous about these affectionate gestures and that others can do such as "high-fiving" or "blowing a kiss."

When we talk about the adjustments that a child with Asperger Syndrome will need in the environment, these may imply a limitation in the activities for the siblings. As during the rest of the year, we must keep special times with them. If the child with Asperger's Syndrome cannot attend an activity but it is important for his brother, surely we can turn to grandparents, uncles, friends ... to do something fun with him while we go with his brother to that activity.

Like everyone else, A child with Asperger Syndrome needs to share, enjoy, be calm at times and activated at others, be stimulated, learn ... Providing this will require adjustments to the environment and special supports, but it will allow us to enjoy Christmas as much as any family.

Meals, Christmas decorations, gifts, camping ... Many changes that we have to get used to the little ones! Here are some helpful tips:

Meals
It is common for children with Asperger Syndrome to find it difficult to regulate the amount of food, especially when there are dishes that can be 'biting'. We can tell them to choose the food they want to eat from everything on the table and put it on a single plate, so that there is a limit but we give them the possibility to choose. Of course, it is not a good time to introduce changes in the diet, so if you have any restriction on flavors, textures, colors, etc., it would be important to respect these particularities.

Christmas decoration
When we go to place the Christmas decorations, we can involve the child. Putting them on and taking them off over several days can help you better tolerate this change. If you have a special predilection for lights and this can get in the way, we can set specific times of the day to turn them on.

Gifts
As we have mentioned, people with Asperger Syndrome do not usually like surprises, sometimes even if they are apparently positive. For this reason, it is recommended that when they write the letters to the Kings or Santa Claus, we help them to ask for things that they will surely receive. Depending on your ability to tolerate frustration, we may include other things you want, but anticipating which you will receive and which you are not sure you will get.

For children with special difficulties in this regard, we can leave the gifts unwrapped, so that they see what it is clearly. And use a quiet place to open them. A common question of families is whether they should give gifts related to 'obsessions'. We can negotiate with them some of these objects, but also include others that may be fun but are not related to these sources of interest. This is a good opportunity to generate new interests!

Christmas camps
Families often have to use a Christmas camp while they are working. There are camps that have places for children with special needs and specialized support professionals. We can contact them before the camp starts to provide them with information on the characteristics of the child or, if this is not possible, make a 'cover letter' with the things that he likes, calms him, stresses him, etc. All the indications regarding anticipation must also be applied in these environments.

At school
During the weeks leading up to the holidays, schools modify their routines, their decoration and carry out unusual activities that tend to be particularly stressful for students with Asperger's Syndrome. It is important that the child is included as much as possible in the dynamics that are carried out but preparing for situations and respecting the level of stress that he can tolerate. The first objective should be that you enjoy these activities, even if you do not participate as long or in as many as the rest of the classmates.

The first day after the holidays must be anticipated and prepared. After two weeks of vacation, going back to school requires an adaptation process. Teachers have to take into account guidelines similar to those on the first day after summer vacation. It may be necessary to enter a little later to avoid the environmental stimulation that will occur at the entrance or for the teacher to go out to look for you.

You can read more articles similar to Christmas at the home of a child with Asperger syndrome, in the Asperger category on site.

Video: What Is High Functioning Autism? 6 Things You Should Know (September 2020).